If you fancy an Overseas Study Scholarship where you can be exposed to the world of retailing then put pen to paper and write for your chance to WIN.

Joe Berry Winner

  • 2015 Sarah Hughes
  • 2014 Simon Padovani-Ginies
  • 2013 Graham Fairbairn
  • 2012 Jessica Richmond
  • 2011 Steven Bean
  • 2010 Kerryn Bullpitt
  • 2009 Brett Griffiths
  • 2008 Paul Heppell
  • 2007 Kelly Willingale
  • 2006 Darren Grace
  • 2004 Delma Honiball
  • 2003 Amanda Glover
  • 2002 James Oliver
  • 2001 Adam Beegling
  • 2000 Anthony George
  • 1999 Peter Syson
  • 1998 Belinda Densley
  • 1997 Leisa Bacon
  • 1996 Gary Dunn
  • 1995 Tony Klatt
  • 1994 Melinda King
  • 1993 Ross Carlton
  • 1992 Debra Carlton
  • 1991 Claude Sorbello
  • 1990 Murray Johnson
  • 1989 Bruce Perkins
  • 1988 Julian Taylor
  • 1987 Chris Mitchell
  • 1986 Bernie Brookes

ASMCA Scholarship

  • 2013 Angus McDonald
  • 2011 Shannon Cumberlidge
  • 2009 Tenielle Dunstall
  • 2007 Matthew Parry
  • 2006 Claire Connole
  • 2003 Luke Driver
  • 2002 Tony Boutouvia
  • 2001 Troy Edwards
  • 2000 Merianne Sayer
  • 1999 Nathan Bromley
  • 1998 Robert Jovcevski
  • 1997 Samira Hasham
  • 1996 Amanda Verhoeven
  • 1995 Jaqueline Dyer

ECRA Scholarship

  • 2015 Adam Mourad
  • 2014 Jessica Hitchin
  • 2013 Claire O'Neil
  • 2012 Nigel Hahnel

What is it about?

If you would like to join Sarah Hughes on the growing list of winners of the prestigious Joe Berry Australian Retail Industry Executive Award the 2016 title is up for the taking. Again, in 2016, the Award is offering the winning entrant the opportunity of a lifetime. Entrants are asked to submit an 2500 word essay, proving how industry savvy they are. Judges will be looking for punchy and informative essays that are a head above the rest.

From the selected finalists, an overall winner will be chosen for the Joe Berry Australian Retail Industry Executive Award 2015. The winner receives an escorted tour of the major world retail markets including Paris, London, New York, Milan and Hong Kong or the option of supported tertiary education.

The winner will also receive a guest speaker role at the annual ECRA Conference, the 2017 Joe Berry Award ceremony and Retail World Magazine will publish their winning essay.

Entries are open November 1, 2015 – February 28, 2016. Age limit is 'under 35' at the closing date.


A word from the Patron...

Bernie Brookers

"The past two years have seen a major lift in the efforts of the entrants and the quality of the finalists. The 2015 Joe Berry Award was the closest so far and the contest between the sectors of the industry was balanced. The reason for holding an award such as the Joe Berry Award is to enable those people with passion for the industry to get the exposure that they deserve. This has been achieved.

If you would like to have that exposure in your resume then entering this award is the best place you can go!

The judges on hand for the 2015 finals continue to be surprised at the understanding of the industry that the young finalists have attained. Their ability to see the future of the industry and to challenge standard thinking gave a clear picture of the changing retail landscape. They gave positive recommendations for change while maintaining a focus on the issues of today. Very impressive!

I have said many times that the industry should be proud that the Joe Berry Award has contributed to the overall standing of our industry and helped so many individuals in many different ways. I f you want to see the talent of today, become a sponsor and join the judging team."

Bernie Brookes, CEO Myer Ltd

It does not matter what role you play in the Retail Industry. From Warehouse to Shop Floor to the Buying office, Supplier Team, Advertising or HR, all industry employees are eligible.

Our objective is to help as many entries as possible to make the judging round. We have video, e-mail and help-line assistance for you as well as a Mentoring Program. Everyone can make use of these services. Additionally, you can use your internal company peers and managers to help you find and manage a topic that suits your industry position.

The Joe Berry Award assists not only the winners but all entrants. Recognition from your company on your efforts in entering the Award will be noticed and rewarded. (Plus there are some surprise awards that are judged on the quality of entries).

Show your support

Over the years, the Joe Berry Australian Retail Executive Awards have been supported by an array of industry leading companies. In 2015 they included Woolworths, 3M Australia, Goodman Fielder, Simplot, Coca-Cola, Nielsen, Bauer Media, Myer, Coles, Manassen, Bulla, Strikeforce, PharmaCare, Cerebos, Campbell Arnotts, ECRA and Retail World.

You are welcome to become a part of the Joe Berry Australian Retail Executive Awards thereby investing in the future of our industry. Take the opportunity to be a valued sponsor in the development of the talent that is the future of retailing. For details on how to join the Joe Berry Australian Retail Executive Awards please email the ASMCA and request the details for Sponsoring this prestigious event: enquiries@asmca.com.